Tuesday, March 12, 2013

Appointment of Colombo University VC

Prof. Lakshman Dissanayake, of the Colombo University Arts Faculty, Dr. Kumara Hirimburegama of the Science Faculty and Dr. Prathiba Mahanamahewa of the Law Faculty, obtained 15, 13 and eight votes respectively at the University Council election yesterday.
The 23-member University Council called for applications for the VC post which fell vacant after Prof. Kshanika Hirimburegama assumed duties as the Chairperson of the University Grants Commission (UGC) on February 01.
Only three applications were received for the post and the election was held yesterday. Each member has three votes. Normally the University Council election is held to prune down the number of nominees to three.
The names of three members would be sent to the UGC to be forwarded to the President shortly.
The Federation of University Teachers’ Associations (FUTA) and the Association of Law Teachers’ of the University Colombo opposed the nomination of Dr. Hirimburegama as his wife heads the UGC.
However, the UGC Chief Prof. Kshanika Hirimburegama said the UGC’s function was to merely forward the three names selected by the university council to the President. It would not select the VC, she said. Extract From Online Island