Wednesday, March 6, 2013

Sri Lanka University Games SLUG 2013

11th Sri Lanka University Games SLUG 2013
The 11th Sri Lanka University Games (SLUG) will be held at the Moratuwa University from 2nd to the 12th of May 2013. It is expected that over 5000 sports men and women from 14 universities will be seen in action for 22 disciplines.
The universities joining the event will be the University of Colombo, University of Peradeniya, University of Moratuwa, University of Sri Jayewardenepura, University of Kelaniya, University of Jaffna, University of Ruhuna, Eastern University of Sri Lanka, Rajarata University of Sri Lanka, Sabaragamuwa University of Sri Lanka, Wayamba University of Sri Lanka, South Eastern University of Sri Lanka, University of Visual & Performing Arts and Uva Wellassa University of Sri Lanka.

It is anticipated that there will be stiff competition and that all sides will show their highest talent and sportsmanship to achieve the much coveted championship title. The teams are already in training for the most looked forward to event of the year, hoping to prove their talent and win the glory of victory.
According to the 10th SLUG point table Colombo University is in the first place while the host Sri Jayawardenepura University is in second place. Over 5,000 sportsmen and women from 14 universities participated for 22 disciplines.

11th Sri Lanka University Games SLUG 2013 www.lankauniversity-news.comThe SLUG was started at Peradeniya University in 1980 and it is held every three years. The last game was held in the Sri Jayawardenepura University in 2010.
In the 1st SLUG there were only 12 disciplines but it has increased to 22 events by the year 2010.
They include Badminton, Baseball, Basketball, Carrom, Chess, Cricket, Elle, Football, Hockey, Karate, Netball, Road Race, Rowing, Rugger, Swimming, Table Tennis, Taekwondo, Tennis, Track and Field, Volleyball, Weightlifting and Wrestling.