Wednesday, April 24, 2013

Sri Lanka University Games 2013-Point Table

SLUG Point Table - Click

Sports stars from 14 universities will take part in the 11th Sri Lanka University Games(SLUG) which will be worked off from May 2 to May 12 at University of Moratuwa Grounds, Sugathadasa Stadium, Mahinda Rajapaksa Stadium Diyagama, Havelock Sports Club, CR and FC and Torrington Grounds Colombo. 
The University of Moratuwa will have the rare honour of hosting this event after 18 years having last done so in 1995.
Around 5,200 sportsmen and women from 14 universities will take part in 22 sports.
Cricket will be worked off from end of April at University of Moratuwa which will also host Men's Baseball on May 6 and 7. Men's and Women's Badminton from May 5 to 7 , Men's and Women's Chess from May 10 to 12, Karate on May 8 and 9, Men's and Women's Table Tennis from May 9 and 10. Weightlifting on May 3, Wrestling on May 7 and the men's road race on May 4.
Sugathadasa Stadium will be the venue for Men's and Women's Basketball from May 3 to 5. Football will be worked off at the Torrington Grounds from May 3 to 5 while the hockey will be played at Police Park on May 8 and 9.
The Netball tourney will be worked off at NYSC Maharagama on May 6 and 7. The rugby tourney will be at CR and FC and Havelock Park on May 3.The swimming meet will be conducted on May 7 at University of Sri Jayawardenapura, The Track and field competition will be on May 11 and 12 at Mahinda Rajapaksa Stadium Diyagama, while the Tennis was completed at SLTA Courts from April 5 to 8.
The volleyball tournament will be staged at NYSC from May 5 to 8. The University of Moratuwa will also host the Taekwondo tournament on May 10 and 11.
SLUSA President Prof Sohan Wijesekara mentioned that this will be an opportunity to unearth talented sportsmen and sportswomen from universities who will go on to represent the country.
He said a 68 member contingent will represent Sri Lanka Universities at the World University Games in Moscow, next year.
President Mahinda Rajapaksa will be the chief guest at the opening ceremony at the University of Moratuwa on May 2 while Minister of Higher Education S.B.Dissanayake will be the chief guest at the closing ceremony on May 12 at 4.00 pm at the same venue.Extract From Daily News Online
SLUG Point Table - Click

No comments:

Post a Comment

Dear Readers,
Share Your Valuable Ideas with Others..

This is your forum. This is your voice..
But Please ....
Be Respectful of others. Debates may be Lively but taking part should be a positive experience for all participants.
Comments should be Pleasant, Useful, civil and tasteful, and must not be malicious or designed to offend.
Dont incite hatred on the basis of Education Background, Race, Religion, Gender, Nationality, Sexuality or other personal characteristic. Dont swear, use hate-speech or make obscene or Vulgar comments.

We encourage open, Lively debate but please be POLITE!
We wish you all a Prosperous & Fruitful Future!
-Admin - Lanka University News-