Tuesday, December 4, 2012

Sri Lanka Red Bull Campus Cricket World T20

Sri Lanka-Red Bull Campus Cricket 2013, an International Twenty20 campus cricket tournament is to be launched its second edition. The Sri Lankan Qualifier starts on December 7.

The Sri Lankan qualifier contest will include respective cricket teams from Universities of Moratuwa, Visual and Performing Art, Peradeniya, Wayamba, Rajarata, Colombo, Jaffna, South Eastern, Kelaniya, Eastern, Uva, Ruhuna, Sabaragamuwa and Sri Jayewardenepura.

The winner will represent Sri Lanka at the International finals in 2013- India. The teams will be divided into four groups – two of three teams and two of four teams.

The group rounds will begin on December 14 and the matches will be played at University grounds of Moratuwa, Wayamba, Rajarata and Peradeniya.

The top two teams of each group will play in the quarterfinals as the knockout stage begin from January 5, 2013 at an international venue in Colombo which is yet to confirm by the organizers.

After the quarterfinals which are scheduled for January 5 and 6, the qualifying teams will play in the semi-final stage on January 19, followed with the final on January 26.