Tuesday, February 12, 2013

2 Jaffna University Students Released Sri Lanka

2 Jaffna University Students Released Sri Lankan PresidentJaffna University Student union secretary Dharshananth and Arts Faculty union President Janamejayan will be released tomorrow. Sri Lankan President Mahinda Rajapaksa during his visit to Jaffna directed the release of Jaffna University students who were arrested last November.

In November last year 11 students were arrested over allegations of a petrol bomb attack on a TELO office and for engaging in other pro-LTTE activities. Subsequently seven students were released.
The students had undergone training at a rehabilitation camp since November last year at a military camp in Welikanda and later in Vavuniya.
The four students, Secretary of the Jaffna University Students' Union, P. Darshanth, S.Soloman, Ganeshamoorthy Sudarshan and Kanakasuntharaswamy Janaka Jeyan have been arrested by the TID Sri Lanka.
2 students of Jaffna University Student Council President Bawananthan and Science Faculty third year student Solomon were released on January 22.
Human Rights Watch urged Sri Lankan government authorities should immediately release or credibly charge four students from Jaffna University.

Related News :
Two students released Click

No comments:

Post a Comment

Dear Readers,
Share Your Valuable Ideas with Others..

This is your forum. This is your voice..
But Please ....
Be Respectful of others. Debates may be Lively but taking part should be a positive experience for all participants.
Comments should be Pleasant, Useful, civil and tasteful, and must not be malicious or designed to offend.
Dont incite hatred on the basis of Education Background, Race, Religion, Gender, Nationality, Sexuality or other personal characteristic. Dont swear, use hate-speech or make obscene or Vulgar comments.

We encourage open, Lively debate but please be POLITE!
We wish you all a Prosperous & Fruitful Future!
-Admin - Lanka University News-